The Amsterdam Mohawks are a part of the New York Collegiate Baseball League, comprising a fourteen-team summer league played throughout upstate New York. In addition to Amsterdam, the NYCBL includes teams located in Bolivar, Wellsville, Watertown, Geneva, Hornell, Little Falls, Rochester, Glens Falls, Saratoga and Bennington, VT. Split into Eastern and Western divisions, the NYCBL is a member of the National Alliance of College Summer Baseball and one of the elite wood bat summer leagues sponsored by Major League Baseball.

To be eligible to play in the NYCBL, a player must have completed at least one year of college and must still have at least one year of playing eligibility remaining. He must also be enrolled full-time at a college or university. Beginning in early June, each team in the league will play a 42-game schedule, which will wind down at the end of July.

The Mohawks play at Shuttleworth Park in Amsterdam typically on Tuesday and Friday nights in June and July. Each night has a theme such as Halloween Night complete with trick or treating. The Stadium is equipped with box seats, a Party Deck and an air conditioned Sky Box with television and waitress service available for rental. Birthday Party packages are also available.

Mohawks have had players go onto the Major League after their college careers. Another highlight to the season is Parkfest held in July. Parkfest offers food, bands, rides and more along with two days of Amsterdam Mohawks Baseball and a giant fireworks display.